Topic of the Week 5:

February 10, 2010 jessicateal1

In the Super Bowl ad my all time favorite, simply because I love Disney and Universal was the Harry Potters ad.  I go to the Universal 2 times a year for the past 4 years and have seen the production and the time it had taken to build this section of the park.  The time and dedication and details that has gone in to production is simply more than anyone could imagine.  I feel like this was a great commercial for the Super Bowl because males are the primary audience of the game and males love gong to them parks. Also, this is the one game of the year that entire family gathers together and watches, so having this advertisement hear is a great idea simply because everyone sees it.  Children will then ask their parents to take them; moms will think it’s a great idea for a family vacation.  I think the target audience for the actual Harry Potter is 12-16 but all ages love them parks and like to take vacations, so to me the age group would be 12-50. This ad just was bright and fun, and was my favorite over all the commercials, even thought there were some funny ones.  This ad seemed to reach out to me and if I had children how liked Harry Potter then this would defiantly be my next vacation spot.  This commercial had so many fun and interesting parts and I defiantly think advertising it during the Super Bowl was the best idea and they pay off will defiantly be worth it in the end.   Everyone knows about Universal Studios and advertising a new product that already had a great success rate and a lot of popularity is perfect timing during the Super Bowl, to me its money well spent.

Entry Filed under: PRCA 3330: Topic of the week,Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. carriebethabramson  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    I am so excited for that Universal Studios made a Harry Potter Theme Park. I feel like they tried to keep the project under wraps so they could introduce it during the Super Bowl, which in my opinion was a good marketing strategy. Adults and children alike are the main publics during the Super Bowl commercials so they were able to reach an extremely broad range of people who would be interested in going to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Also, they were able to create an element of surprise because not many people were aware that this theme park was even in the works! I think that alone created a lot of excitement and a positive outcome for the marketing department at Universal Studios.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts

 
